top of page
Search

Dear Skeptic

I see you.


I see you moving through life, fully aware. I see you checking in with your truth when new things come to light. I see you engaging your discernment. You are a person moving with the beat of your individual drum. You're cautious. Skepticism is healthy and you know that.


In walks someone like myself, speaking of energy and how simple relaxation can be the catalyst for a powerful healing experience. There's talk of energy moving out of the hands into someone else without any touch happening. There's mention of not having to be in the same physical space for the session to be effective.


I see your face. You smile as sweetly as you can, but your face says it all. You're sure as you can be that this is woo-woo non-sense. This is new age crap. This is not something your analytical mind can accept. Maybe you find these ideas laughable. Maybe you doubt that there's any science behind this. Maybe you feel like it goes against your personal dogma.


I hear you and I understand your hesitation.


I'll be the first to tell you that I was skeptical too. I'm not sure how I would have ever believed that Reiki was genuinely effective if I'd never tried it for myself, but I did and it's resulted in me spending the last 5-1/2 years of my life devoted to the practice. I practice this modality because it works on so many levels and has completely changed my life.


During the time that I've been practicing, I've seen people come in with stiff necks that wouldn't budge. 30 minutes later, there was full range of motion. I've seen people relieved of indigestion in mintues. I've seen people who'd thrown out their backs bend down to pet a dog without even thinking about it only to realize that they could suddenly bend. I've seen people experience deep emotions that they thought they'd hidden away forever come up to the surface to be healed.


That's just anecdotal evidence though and of course I'm going to tell you that it works, right?


What if I told you that Reiki is currently used in over 60 hospitals in the US? What if I told you that Reiki is being offered to oncology patients while their receiving chemotherapy? What if I told you that Reiki is also being taught to oncology patients and their families through a volunteer program in some of those same hospitals? What if you knew about how Reiki is being used in hospice settings to compliment end of life care? What if I told you that I'm talking about hospitals like Yale New Haven, Johns Hopkins, Harvard Cancer Center, George Washington University Hospital and locally at Elmhurst Hospital? What if I told you that Reiki is being studied all of the time and those studies are easily found on-line?


Now, for those that feel that Reiki doesn't align with your dogma, I hear you too. Here's the thing about Reiki: it has no dogma. Literally none. This energy requires no belief in any specific system or worship particular deities. Reiki is inherently human and there's nothing to fear from it. It only works for your greatest good.


The truth is, even after all of this time, Reiki keeps surprising me and I hope it always does. My understanding has shifted again and again and I hope that continues too. There are questions I can't answer and maybe I'll never be able to. That's fine with me.


So, my skeptic friend, I hear you and see you. I'm always happy to have a conversation to address any concerns you may have. Even then, you probably just have to experience it for yourself. Your skepticism is welcome here, so there's no reason to let it stop you from giving Reiki a try.


With gratitude,

Pam



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page